AC/DC Return with New Song 'Shot In The Dark,' Reveal New Album Details

AC/DC is back with a brand new album, Power Up, for fans and are sharing the first taste of the record with their new song "Shot In The Dark."

With Angus Young (lead guitar), Brian Johnson (lead vocals), Cliff Williams (bass guitar), Phil Rudd (drums), and Stevie Young (rhythm guitar) together again, "Shot In The Dark" includes lyrics like, "A shot in the dark/ Make you feel alright/ A shot in the dark/ All through the whole night/ A shot in the dark/ Yeah, electric sparks/ A shot in the dark/ Beats a walk in the park."

In a recent interview with Rolling Stone, Angus said of the new song, "It’s got that great AC/DC vibe about it, great swagger, and a good AC/DC rock & roll chant. The title is a little bit cheeky because we all like a little nip [of alcohol] in the night or a few shots in the dark. I was very glad when the record company heard it [that] they felt it was a very strong song and should be the first one that people hear."

"Shot In The Dark" will appear on the AC/DC's new album Power Up, which is set to be released on November 13, and is the band's first new music in six years. The new album will be the group's seventeenth and features twelve new tracks, reuniting with producer Brendan O'Brien, who also worked on 2008's Black Ice and 2014's Rock Or Bust.

Rolling Stone reports that Power Up was recorded between late 2018 and early 2019, and that "Angus raided the AC/DC vault of unreleased songs before they began and every track is credited to Angus and Malcom Young." Malcom passed away the year before in 2017, and this new album is a tribute to him. Angus told Rolling Stone, "This record is pretty much a dedication to Malcolm, my brother. It’s a tribute for him like Back in Black was a tribute to Bon Scott."

See the full Power Up track listing below:

1.     "Realize"

2.     "Rejection"

3.     "Shot In The Dark"

4.     "Through The Mists Of Time"

5.     "Kick You When You’re Down"

6.     "Witch’s Spell"

7.     "Demon Fire"

8.     "Wild Reputation"

9.     "No Man’s Land"

10.  "Systems Down"

11.  "Money Shot"

12.  "Code Red"